NaPoWriMo, Day 21 (late)

Prompt via Brave New Voices.
“My _________ does not give you permission to ________”

Day 21

Attention men:
My blue hair
Does not entitle you to look at me
The way you do
And it does not entitle you to leer
While I’m crossing the street
My jean vest and knee socks
Do not entitle you to devour me
With your eyes
When I keep my earbuds in tightly
And my meanest mug on,
Killer eyebrows raised atop my
Black sunglasses
So that I can roll my eyes without anyone seeing
My appearance does not entitle you
To think about me
My appearance does not entitle you
To my body
My appearance does not entitle you
To my smile
My appearance does not entitle you
To a goddamn thing
My perfect, black and blue hair
Is not up for discussion
My Doc Martens
Are perfect for kicking
My dress choices based on finally seeing sunlight after a dark winter
Is not an invitation
My body is not an object
My face is not an invitation
My height is not a challenge
My weight is not a political statement for you to address
My hair is not up for discussion
And you do not own me

Leave a Reply

